Laurence Saunois, artist

Laurence Saunois, Artist

Self-taught, my love of art and passion for discovery gave rise to what I am today: an artist.

An artist who wants to constantly evolving, as indeed the world that surrounds and simply try, in her creations, to remember that what is more beautiful and more just. My path is often fraught with doubts, hopes, failures or successes. 

Create brings me much joy but it is nothing compared to the joy of giving happiness and emotions. 

Because art is above all this: to provoke emotions.

     

Art Renewal Center Associate Living Master

"The artist has dedicated themselves to becoming a realist artist with the wish to express our shared humanity through the visual arts. In addition, an ARC Associate Living Master has shown significant skill in all the building blocks of great art..competence and understanding in all of the basic building blocks of great art, these being for a painter: accurate drawing, compositional sensibilities, effective use of lighting, the technical ability to use modeling, glazing /scumbling, perspective, tone, hue and successful emotional expression."

Mon Parcours

I was born in 1966 near Paris, as far back as I can remember, I have always loved drawing. At the age of 9, I started learning to ride. As soon as I had a pencil in my hand, I would draw horses. As a teenager, I admired painters like Ingres, Géricault........ I often went to the Louvre Museum in Paris to admire 18th and 19th century paintings.
I am completely self-taught. I never learned to draw or took classes. I use all pictorial techniques but I prefer oil painting. I discovered the use of colour and pigments at the age of 28. I painted landscapes and portraits. I liked to create an atmosphere and play with light and shade.
Through each painting made, there is a story, one or more people met. There is also a photographic work since I work mainly according to my pictures. How to succeed in having the right posture, the right attitude, the right look..... most often with patience. The animal is a living being and it is necessary to know how to deal with its mood and character. I like to photograph nature and of course animals for all that it has to offer. With them, we keep learning. All animals are beautiful and I love them all. It's my great passion.

Dans mon jardin, le Jardin de Jammary....



In the countryside, my garden covers 5000 m2. I have only one wish: to welcome as much biodiversity as possible. Every plant and every animal has its place in it. It is home to a very rich fauna and flora. Several dozen species of birds, several hundred butterflies, insects, amphibians, reptiles, mammals, bats and other creatures, all find shelter and food in my organic garden.
In 2011, my good environmental practices were awarded by the Ministry of the Environment in the Ecophyto competition.
My garden has a particularity: I never water it!
My motto: "I don't want a showcase garden but a living garden"

"Don't let me die"

I have known Laurence Saunois since 2008 when I first selected her work to tour in the Society of Animal Artists traveling museum exhibition, ART AND THE ANIMAL, an apt exhibition since her iconography is mostly drawn from the world of animals. Though she’d only been painting as a full-time professional for a short time, her 2008 entry, which was her first entry, was selected by a jury of peers for The Annual Exhibition of The Society of Animal Artists (from which the ART AND THE ANIMAL tour is drawn). More work followed, and for the next 5 consecutive years, her paintings were juried into the Society’s Annual Exhibitions. Her 2008 entry, entitled, Ne me laissez pas mourir (Don't Let Me Die), portrayed a polar bear swimming as if for its life, exhaling bubbles of oxygen with eyes closed under Arctic waters, not knowing allegorically which way to turn in the face of global warming. Few other artists in that exhibition had the foresight or expressed concern artistically about the implications of global warming. But Laurence Saunois did, and in a powerful way. The next year, her painting, entitled simply, Flamingo, was subsequently featured in the important 50th Anniversary Annual Exhibition of The Society of Animal Artists which was displayed at The San Diego Museum of Natural History, adjacent to the famous San Diego Zoo, where flamingoes, with their flamboyant colors and amusing behaviors, have welcomed Zoo guests since 1932, a fact obviously not lost on Laurence Saunois. I’ve also toured work by Laurence Saunois in the 2015-2016 tour of MASTERWORKS FROM THE INTERNATIONAL GUILD OF REALISM, another apt exhibition since her realism is so masterly and extends beyond the world of animals into landscapes, portraits, and still lifes for example. More recently, I’ve been struck by her current body of work, which she calls, "N.B.Cism" (N. for "noir" or black, B. for "blanc" or white and C. for "couleurs" or colors). A good example of work from this series is her painting, En amour, j'ai confiance (In Love, I Trust) a large work of a white dove, back-lit in silhouette with wings spread, dramatizing the artist’s message of love, peace and hope, which is so needed in the world in the age in which we live today.
David J. Wagner, Ph.D. - Curator/Tour Director and Author, American Wildlife Art  - www.davidjwagnerllc.com

Laurence Saunois, artiste

Laurence SAUNOIS, Artiste peintre & Sculpteur

Mon amour de l'art et ma passion de la découverte ont donné naissance à ce que je suis aujourd'hui : une artiste.

 Une artiste qui se veut en perpétuelle évolution, comme d'ailleurs le monde qui l' entoure et qui essait simplement, dans ses créations, d'en retenir que ce qu'il y a de plus beau et de plus juste.
 Mon parcours est souvent jalonné de doutes, d’espoirs, d’échecs ou de réussites. Créer m’apporte beaucoup de joie mais cela n’est rien comparé au plaisir d’offrir du bonheur et des émotions. Parce que l'art, c'est avant tout ça : provoquer des émotions.

        

Art Renewal Center Associate Living Master

"Véritables maîtres des arts visuels, ils forment et inspirent la prochaine génération d'artistes, de chercheurs et d'enseignants, pour protéger, préserver et perpétuer les techniques traditionnelles avec des sujets du 21 e siècle". (Extrait du site de l'Art Renewal Center)

Mon Parcours

Je suis née en1966 près de Paris, Aussi loin que je me souvienne, j’ai toujours aimé dessiner. A l’âge de 9 ans, j’ai commencé à apprendre à monter à cheval. Dès que j’avais un crayon en main, je dessinais des chevaux. A l’adolescence, j’admirais des peintres comme Ingres, Géricault…..J’allais souvent au Musée du Louvre à Paris pour admirer les peintures du 18ème et 19ème siècle.
Je suis complètement autodidacte. Je n’ai jamais appris à dessiner ou  pris de cours. J’utilise toutes les techniques picturales mais je préfère la peinture à l’huile. J’ai découvert l’utilisation de la couleur et les pigments à l’âge de 28 ans. Je peignais des paysages et des portraits. J’aimais créer une atmosphère et joué avec l’ombre et la lumière.
Au travers de chaque tableau réalisé, il y a une histoire, une ou plusieurs personnes rencontrées. Il y a aussi un travail photographique puisque je travaille essentiellement d’après mes clichés. Comment réussir à avoir la bonne posture, la bonne attitude, le bon regard….le plus souvent avec de la patience. L’animal est un être vivant et il est nécessaire de savoir composer avec son humeur et son caractère. J’aime photographier la nature et bien évidemment les animaux pour tout ce que cela à d’enrichissant. Avec eux, on n’arrête pas d’apprendre. Tous les animaux sont beaux et je les aime tous. C’est ma grande passion.

Dans mon jardin, le Jardin de Jammary....

En pleine campagne, mon jardin s'étale sur 5000 m2. Je n'ai qu'un seul souhait : acceuillir le maximum de biodiversité. Chaque plante et chaque animal y a sa place. Une faune et une flore très riche le peuplent. Plusieurs dizaines d'espèces d'oiseaux, plusieurs centaines de papillons, des insectes, des batraciens aux reptiles en passant par les mammifères, chauves-souris et autres bestioles, tous trouvent le gîte et le couvert dans mon jardin biologique.
En 2011, mes bonnes pratiques environnementales ont été primées par le Ministère de l'environnement lors du concours Ecophyto.
Mon jardin a en effet une particularité : je ne l'arrose jamais!
Ma devise : "Je ne veux pas d'un jardin vitrine mais un jardin vivant"
Je connais Laurence Saunois depuis 2008, date à laquelle j'ai sélectionné pour la première fois son travail pour une tournée de l'exposition itinérante de la Society of Animal Artists, ART AND THE ANIMAL, une exposition appropriée puisque son iconographie est principalement issue du monde animal. Bien qu'elle ne peignait à temps plein que depuis peu de temps, son œuvre de 2008, qui était sa première participation, a été sélectionnée par un jury de pairs pour l'exposition annuelle de la Society of Anima Artists (d'où est tirée la tournée ART AND THE ANIMAL). D'autres travaux ont suivi, et pendant les cinq années consécutives qui ont suivi, ses peintures ont fait l'objet d'un jury dans le cadre des expositions annuelles de la Société. Sa peinture de 2008, intitulée "Ne me laissez pas mourir" (don't let me die), dépeignait un ours polaire nageant comme s'il était vivant, exhalant des bulles d'oxygène avec les yeux fermés sous les eaux arctiques, sans savoir allégoriquement de quel côté se tourner face au réchauffement climatique. Peu d'autres artistes de cette exposition ont eu la prévoyance ou ont exprimé leur inquiétude artistique au sujet des implications du réchauffement de la planète. Mais Laurence Saunois l'a fait, et d'une manière puissante. L'année suivante, sa peinture, intitulée simplement Flamingo, a été présentée à l'importante exposition annuelle du 50e anniversaire de la Society of Animal Artists qui a eu lieu au Musée d'histoire naturelle de San Diego, à côté du célèbre zoo de San Diego, où les flamants, avec leurs couleurs flamboyantes et leurs comportements amusants, sont accueillis depuis 1932, un fait évident pour Laurence Saunois. J'ai également visité l'œuvre de Laurence Saunois dans la tournée 2015-2016 de MASTERWORKS FROM THE INTERNATIONAL GUILD OF REALISM, une autre exposition pertinente puisque son réalisme est si magistral qu'il s'étend au-delà du monde des animaux, aux paysages, portraits et natures mortes par exemple. Plus récemment, j'ai été frappé par son œuvre actuelle, qu'elle appelle "N.B.Cism" (N. pour "noir", B. pour "blanc" et C pour "couleurs"). Un bon exemple du travail de cette série est sa peinture "En amour, j'ai confiance", une grande œuvre d'une colombe blanche, rétro-éclairée en silhouette avec des ailes déployées, qui met en scène le message d'amour, de paix et d'espoir de l'artiste, si nécessaire dans le monde de notre temps.
David J. Wagner, Ph.D. - Conservateur de Musée/directeur de tournée et auteur, American Wildlife Art - www.davidjwagnerllc.com